Historical Railway from Tábor to Bechyně

The railway from Tábor to Bechyně was the first electrified railway track on the territory of former Austria-Hungary. The plan of the railway connection from Tábor to Bechyně comes from the end of the 19th century. In the same period, František Křižík made his experiments with electrical drive on the railway. The joint eff orts of the Bechyně Railway Cooperative and the Křižík company were successful. In spring of 1902, he was awarded a concession to build, and in the course of a single year he succeeded in building the railway. The ceremonial launching into operation of a 24-km track was held on 21 June 1903. From the beginning, the track was projected exclusively for electrical operation. It allowed for the use of lighter vehicles and minimized the ground work. The track in the countryside copies the surrounding terrain and 40° slopes and arches with a very small radius are not rare. The journey from Tábor to Bechyně is therefore currently an interesting experience. The only original larger artifi cial building is the bridge over the Lužnice River in Tábor. The former power plant building is located near the bridge and served for power supplies for the
railway. Originally the track ended on the left bank of the Lužnice River in the current space of the “old railway station”. In 1928 a new bridge over the Lužnice River was launched into operation and the track was extended to the current station in the town. The bridge in Bechyně, known as the Bechyně Rainbow, is also an architectonic rarity and a national cultural heritage monument. It was built from 1926 to 1928. Its reinforced concrete structure arches almost 60 m above the surface of the Lužnice River, it is 190 m long, and the span of the main arch is 90 m. Another feature that makes the bridge unique is its joint operation mode: the railway goes parallel to the road connecting Bechyně with Tábor and Týn nad Vltavou.


In the summer months, you can make trips by regular and special trains that are driven with historical vehicles as part of the Summer at Bechyňka.